post-thumb

Power Platform Community Call – June 2022

Call summary

Latest updates and news on Power Platform including community events, training opportunities and a warm welcome to the newest member of the Power Platform team - Hugo Bernier - Community Program Manager for Power Pages. Two demos delivered – Taking your Power Apps mobile navigation UI to the next level! And Power to the Pages – Introduction to Power Pages! Don’t forget to register for Power Platform Samples Contributor and Writing for the Web, events this month. This call was hosted by David Warner II (Microsoft) | @DavidWarnerII and recorded on June 15, 2022. Questions addressed in chat throughout the call.

New this month

  • Welcome Hugo Bernier, Community Program Manager for Power Pages - Hugo Bernier (Microsoft) | @bernierh
  • Sharing is Caring event dates announced
    • Power Platform Samples Contributor | Tuesday, May 31, 9:30 am PT - Register
    • Writing for the Web | Thursday, June 23, 12pm PT | 3pm ET | 9pm CET - Register
    • Writing for the Web | Monday, June 27, 10am PT | 1pm ET | 7pm CET - Register

Demo summaries

  • Taking your Power Apps mobile navigation UI to the next level! – UI design and the “thumb zone” when designing your mobile app are the difference between awesome and not used. Accessibility, user experience, and appealing UI matter in mobile navigation. Graphical layouts and bottom nav bar with few buttons/links to most important information are key. Look at sample Apartment Manager mobile app and various mobile device navigation options in Power Apps design environment.
  • Power to the Pages – Introduction to Power Pages! – a new product in the Power Platform lineup that allows you to create low code/no code friendly websites. Knowledge of HTML, JavaScript, CSS or Liquid not required, but optional! Learn the differences between Power Apps Portals and Power Pages, understanding that Power Pages (an abstraction layer) are built on Power Apps Portals! Follow along to create an enterprise grade preview site. Q&A and link to Preview.

Agenda items

  • Latest updates and news on Power Platform - David Warner II (Microsoft) | @DavidWarnerII – 5:29
  • Demo - Taking your Power Apps mobile navigation UI to the next level! – Kristine Kolodziejski (Computacenter) | @kristinekk94 – 9:54
  • Demo - Power to the Pages – Introduction to Power Pages! – Hugo Bernier (Microsoft) | @bernierh – 26:18

Together Mode

Attendees waving hands in Microsoft Teams together mode picture

Hello extended Power Platform community! This picture conveys many words – excited, committed, empowered. You are absolutely amazing! Thank you for being part of this community.

Actions

Demo references

Request to present a demo during this call - aka.ms/PPCCDemoRequest

General resources

Additional resources